Weighting too long … [5:2 diet, chapter 3]

One problem with keeping a post in draft too long, aside from thoughtlessly keeping my adoring public waiting, is that the whole tone of the piece may need to change as circumstances unfold. This post for example was set to be an entirely positive update at the end of my fifth week using the Fast Diet (5:2 diet). A further week in draft and I have another binge eating episode to record. I’m not going to detail the crime scene as I did in my last post, but several gingerbread men, assorted nuts and raisins and two small golden rabbits were involved. Oh well.

Weighing in last week at 69.3kg I had achieved my short term goal by reaching 70kg / 11 stone by the end of April. Even with this week’s lapse I remain inside that threshold at 69.9kg. When first calculating my goal running weight I rationalised that whilst 66kg was potentially the optimum for running performance I wanted to stay at or under 70kg at all times. Having now achieved that for the first time I want to maintain it.

The 5:2 pattern, fasting for 2 days and eating normally for the other 5, has become part of the rhythm of life and I find myself genuinely looking forward to my fast days every Tuesday and Friday. I notice the taste of my food and savour it more, particularly the food eaten on fast days and breakfast the following morning, but also at other times. It seems that the fast days continually re-calibrate my appetite both in terms of restraining my physical appetite and increasing my conscious consideration of food. My habit of binge eating is quite separate and I’ve gained awareness and some control just by blogging about it.

I now think that retaining the 5:2 pattern permanently, beyond my immediate desire to lose further weight to achieve my goal running weight, is not such a strange proposition after all. This is what is proposed in the Fast Diet book since there is evidence that intermittent fasting produces health benefits aside from its effectiveness in weight management. For the last few weeks my typical fast day nutrition has been as described below. I changed from the porridge and poached egg that I had typically eaten for the first two weeks since it included no fruit or vegetables and, given that I’ve not been running either, was leaving me feeling distinctly lethargic. Yes, that’s a euphemism.

typical fast day nutrition
cereal: 30g bran flakes, 15g all bran, 35g porridge oats, 165g semi skimmed milk
energy: 110 + 50 + 133 + 81 = 374 calories

tuna salad: 139g tuna, 10g olive oil, chinese leaf, spinach, cherry tomatoes
energy: 138 + 88 = 226 calories (+ salad)

one white coffee: 1g instant coffee, 20ml semi-skimmed milk, 5g brown sugar
energy: 2 + 10 + 19 = 31 calories

TOTAL: 621 calories (+ salad)

Fast Diet, chapter 3, weight graph

Weight change from 25 March 2014 to date achieved using Fast Diet approach as modified by two episodes of binge eating.

Here’s to maintaining my sub 70kg weight.

Comment

