Pause for thought – Advent running, day 2

I’m not going to say I regret joining @adventrunning‘s #adventrunning challenge already, but very soon after I published yesterday’s post, and thereby committed myself to run on each of the first 25 days of December, I paused for thought.

pause

And my thought was, “Hmm … So today’s run was supposed to be the last hard workout before tapering for next Sunday’s 5 mile race. I’m currently running 5 days a week. How is running every day going to fit in with that exactly?”

It is also the case that when I’m running free from injury I enjoy my running so much that I often find tapering a challenge. When training is going well and I’m feeling fast and light, running less is the last thing I want to do. So committing to run for 25 consecutive days from yesterday was pretty much precisely what I didn’t need to do.

day 2, 33 minutes running
I treated myself to a gently paced recovery run after yesterday’s hard tempo effort.

6:47am 6.3k recovery run @ 5:10/km
average cadence 171, average HR 121, max HR 136
Comment

