Fit for fifty

Suddenly my fiftieth birthday is less than a month away! I have been so busy being concerned about being injured that the day seems to have crept up on me. Recovery wise I am now feeling much better both physically and mentally. Yesterday I ran just over eleven kilometres – the furthest I have run since mid April – without incident and later had a physio appointment which also went well. As I type I am just home from swimming 800m and looking forward to my next run on Thursday when I plan to run a kilometre or so further than yesterday.

My fiftieth birthday also heralds the imminent start of my #50at50 calendar which, when I first thought of the idea back in January, was conceived as a joyful celebration of my fiftieth year and my running. Whilst my fitness does seem to be returning, from today’s perspective it looks a little less joyful and little more daunting. We shall see.

Understandably, the Cyclist has also expressed doubts about my abililty to participate in 50 events in a year and still be available for family life; not least because of the inclusion of both my first marathon and my first ultramarathon. We shall indeed, see!

50at50_header

Comment

