‘We shall see’ addendum

Posting at the weekend about the imminent start of my #50at50 calendar I acknowledged that I was feeling more daunted than joyful in anticipation of the challenge ahead. However, as I tried to present as positive a version of the challenge as possible, it seems I subconsciously omitted two significant additional potential obstacles to achieving my goal:

I shall be starting an Open University course in October. I’m not anticipating that this will present much of an obstacle and in fact, perhaps naively, I’m hoping I’ll have the mental energy to study whilst physically recovering after my long run each Thursday morning. As my marathon plan begins to ramp up early next year this may become more difficult.

Perhaps more significantly I am having a procedure under general anaesthetic at the beginning of November to remove kidney stones. In response to the obvious question my consultant advised that I would be able to run again within a week. Currently I am planning to volunteer at parkrun in the week following the procedure to keep my #50at50 count going.

In both cases, we shall of course see. 😉

Comment

