Brinkmanship (ii)

I have been out on another four runs since my last post. Most importantly, the latest, this morning, was the first in which not only did I experience no pain or discomfort in my right knee during the run, but I have also experienced precisely zero pain or discomfort post run. Hopefully, this is the last post which I will need to tag ‘recovery‘ for some time. 😉

Across my eight runs so far this year, I can see my returning cardiovascular fitness reflected in my generally constant average HR, notwithstanding the increasing distance or reducing rest days. I plan to be running every other day soon.

date distance average pace average HR rest period since previous run
5 Mar 7.0k 5:00/km 141 2 days
2 Mar 6.0k 4:59/km 140 3 days
27 Feb 6.0k 4:58/km 144 2 days
24 Feb 6.0k 5:00/km 139 4 days
19 Feb 5.5k 5:00/km 139 5 days
13 Feb 5.0k 5:10/km 145 10 days
2 Feb 5.0k 5:18/km 139 2 days
30 Jan 5.0k 5:20/km 148 3 months

I have some way to go though to return to levels of fitness of early 2015; on 29 January that year I ran 16.1k, averaging 5:00/km and HR 126, and that was my fifth consecutive running day. It is not co-incidental that, just a few weeks later, was the last time I achieved a significant PB. (I recorded a 5000m PB in April 2015, but, in only my second participation in the discipline, there was little likelihood of not recording a PB that evening.)

There are a couple of other brinks that need manning too …

My weight. Having returned to close to 70kg by Christmas I’m a bit frustrated by my disappointment, in not running in the first quarter of 2016, being expressed in weight gain. At 72.3kg today, my first goal is to return to sub 70kg by late Spring and then, hopefully buoyed by ongoing fitness and some racing success, to press towards something close to 66kg.

At 72.3kg today, my first goal is to return to sub 70kg …

Finally, my RunBritain handicap is now languishing at 7.9, its lowest value since mid 2012 when it was still rising following my return to running at the beginning of that year. I don’t have absolute goals in mind for my handicap, but would enjoy a return to my previous peak of 5.1 recorded in December 2014.

caoption

My RunBritain handicap is at its lowest value since mid 2012 … I would enjoy a return to my previous peak of 5.1 recorded in December 2014.

Comment

