Alive!

This morning started with a plan to walk to Dulwich parkrun; this being a change from my recent habit of catching a train there and running home. The plan lasted about 30 minutes from its inception when I was still in bed, where I had woken early enough for it to be a possibility, to its demise when I realised I had taken just a little too long to get my person in gear to make it practical. At this point, the Cyclist suggested that I cycle instead of reverting to public transport which, I thought, seemed reasonable. A little more faffing – with water, raisins, nuts (edible) and a pannier – prior to departure meant I arrived only just in time to fit in a warm up before parkrun started.

After parkrunning myself, cheering home many of the other runners and momentarily swapping shirts with another parkrunner – to check the sizing of his new parkrun apricot/orange t-shirt – I decided to meander a little on my cycle home. The continued combination of weather and activity enlivened me so much that I meandered further and wider taking in Crystal Palace, Addiscombe and Sydenham before taking a break in Ladywell Park. I enjoyed my water, raisins and nuts (edible) before returning much more directly home; primarily along the footpath that runs beside the railway line, and river Beck, from Ladywell to Beckenham.

Further invigorated by cereal topped with banana and sweet British strawberries, I have tried to capture the moment …

start time distance duration
ride 8:13 8.1km 32:41 home to Dulwich Park
run 8:47 2.0km 9:06 warm up
run 9:08 5.0km 20:21 Dulwich parkrun
ride 9:57 23.0km 1:14:38 Dulwich park to Ladywell Park
ride 11:23 7.4km 27:26 Ladywell Park to home

Sensually thrilled – by the combination of glorious weather, physical activity, parkrun competition and community, food and hydration – I am now feeling quite blissfully alive! 🙂

And wearing my own, bespoke, unoffical, parkrun t-shirt in celebration!

tshirt - unofficial parkrun

My own, bespoke, unofficial, parkrun t-shirt.


map - ride meander

I meandered further and wider taking in Crystal Palace, Addiscombe and Sydenham before taking a break in Ladywell Park


map - ride home

Directly home; primarily along the footpath that runs beside the railway line, and river Beck, from Ladywell to Beckenham.

2 thoughts on “Alive!

  1. Nice. I didn’t know you had a tee shirt with a bar code on it too. Or did I?! I actually didn’t Parkrun today, owing to the Wings for Life race tomorrow, but I volunteered instead. =) I am looking forward to tomorrow. Are you all hooked on cycling now too then? I’m considering a combination of cycle/run half way round the South Coastal Path from Minehead to Land’s End in the summer hols.

    • Not really ‘all hooked’, but the combination of weather and how easy it feels, relative to running, makes for a feeling of mental and physical strength. Now that my swimming is so much better I actually found myself considering a triathlon, briefly, earlier … But cycling, generally no, not that hooked. Today was my first ride, of any kind, since October and that, in turn, was prompted by the Cyclist having my bike serviced for my birthday. I’m definitely a fair-weather cyclist.

Comment

