Lows and highs (Brighton marathon training, weeks 4 & 5)

I started week 4 of my marathon training, or more accurately ended week 3 as I warmed up for the long run which concluded that week, by injuring myself with a foam roller. At the time of my post I hadn’t realised the significance of my achievement. As I rolled my upper legs and hips in preparation for my long run, I somewhat absently moved the roller to my chest and took my body weight on it just as I began to get up. The roller rolled down my ribs and momentarily, and painfully, I took most of my weight on my lowest right rib. For the next couple of days even laughing or pronounced breathing was painful due to my, apparently bruised, rib. Fortunately, running wasn’t precluded and although the discomfort has now all but disappeared, the embarrassment lingers.

Meanwhile, just after my first run of the week, I noticed a slight burning sensation behind my right kneecap which I recognised as the symptom preceding prepatellar bursitis, which wrote off the last two months of 2015 and continued to affect my running into early 2016. I skipped my planned Sunday run and used ice and a compression bandage to manage the symptom with some success. I was able to complete my Tuesday and Thursday runs unaffected. The latter, my long run, was my longest run for almost two years!

week 4 – ending Thursday 12 January

day* training
Fri
Sat 45 mins easy, 2 separate runs (5:14/km average)
Sun
Mon (swim 1.4k, 39 mins)
Tue 60 mins easy (5:01/km average)
Wed
Thu 90 mins easy (5:06/km average)
total 3 hrs 15 mins (-25 mins versus training plan)
* The plan I’m using has long runs on a Sunday, as is traditional. I currently do mine on a Thursday, hence the shift compared to the snippet below.
caption

Week 4 of the ‘2016 improver plan’ that I am using as a template for my training. [Available via Virgin London Marathon plans, devised by Martin Yelling.]

ca

My longest run for almost two years!

Fortunately, week 5 of my training plan was essentially an adaptation week and so I have been able to rest my knee to some extent. However, the burning sensation behind my right knee cap has persisted, albeit typically when I am not running. Fortunately, the symptoms have not progressed further and I have continued to treat with ice and compression. At this point, I am somewhat apprehensive about what the effect of returning to more intensive running in week 6 will be …

week 5 – ending Thursday 19 January

day* training
Fri
Sat 22 mins easy (4:58/km average)
Sun 34 mins easy (4:52/km average)
Mon (swim 1.4k, 40 mins)
Tue 22 mins easy (4:54/km average)
Wed
Thu 60 mins easy (4:47/km average)
total 2 hrs 18 mins (+8 mins versus training plan)
* The plan I’m using has long runs on a Sunday, as is traditional. I currently do mine on a Thursday, hence the shift compared to the snippet below.
caption

Week 5 of the ‘2016 improver plan’ that I am using as a template for my training. [Available via Virgin London Marathon plans, devised by Martin Yelling.]

Comment

