“Daddy, on parkrunday …”

My five and a half year old daughter has done two junior parkruns. She ran both last year at Brockwell Park; one in August and one in September. She sometimes mentions parkrun to me and I to her, but fairly infrequently. She is of course aware that I run most days and even has a fairly good grasp of my regular running routine although she probably hasn’t seen my training plan t-shirt since around the time of her last parkrun.

My wife mentioned just a little earlier this evening that five and half year old seemed to be expecting to go parkrunning with me this weekend. A moment ago a freshly post bath time little girl in a fluffy red dressing gown made an irresistible request.

“Daddy, on parkrunday can you wear the same t-shirt as me and your running shorts?”

Recovery is t-shirt shaped.

My five and a half year old daughter has a fairly good grasp of my regular running routine although she probably hasn’t seen the t-shirt since around the time of her last parkrun.

The t-shirt request does not apply to my own bespoke training plan t-shirt which is, of course, unique. We will be wearing our prized limited edition parkrun 10th anniversary t-shirts. And black shorts. I can’t wait 🙂

parkrun anniversary tshirt

My prized limited edition parkrun 10th anniversary t-shirt. This shirt and an array of other official parkrun items are available at Wiggle.

Comment